Innovative platform for Touring Car competition

Innovative platform for Touring Car competition

16. 10. 2022 0 News ,

After launching the TCR WORLD RANKING, WSC is delighted to announce a new platform for teams and drivers that strengthens the TCR community and follows the revised World Touring Car set up as was outlined in the announcements from FIA and Discovery Sports Events.
WSC has committed to this plan keeping in mind the fundamental principles of the TCR concept, with the aim of offering its stakeholders (manufacturers, teams and drivers) a product that fully meets with their ambitions and needs: sporting performance, value for money and media coverage.

The TCR WORLD RANKING through the TCR WORLD TOUR and the TCR WORLD RANKING FINAL offers teams and drivers the opportunity to compete at a global level.

The TCR WORLD TOUR consists of nine events selected from those of the TCR-sanctioned series worldwide, giving priority to the best racetracks and the most popular championships. The TCR WORLD TOUR competitors will be awarded with points increased by 50 per cent compared to those awarded in the other events valid for the TCR WORLD RANKING. The first 15 drivers in the TCR WORLD TOUR classification will qualify directly for the TCR WORLD RANKING FINAL, the event where all touring car drivers will want to be. The list of the selected events that count towards the TCR WORLD TOUR will be unveiled shortly; they will cover four continents, with the season starting in Europe. Those events will be given special attention to enhance visibility and promotion.

TCR WORLD RANKING FINAL – Where this new journey ends
A TCR WORLD RANKING FINAL will be organised in cooperation with Discovery Sports Events within the four months following the end of the TCR WORLD TOUR. This exciting event will be held every year, over four days, with a playoff format and with 60 drivers taking part: the top 15 drivers classified in the TCR WORLD TOUR, and the top 45 drivers classified in the TCR WORLD RANKING.
The TCR World Ranking Final will award titles to Drivers, Teams and Manufacturers.