Pekař leaves Hungaroring with maximum points

Pekař leaves Hungaroring with maximum points

17. 4. 2021 0 News

It was a perfect Saturday for Tomáš Pekař from the Carpek team. In the morning, he took a victory in the TCR Eastern Europe series and in the afternoon, after a brilliant performance with some great passes, he added a second victory at Hungaroring.

Race 2 of the TCR Eastern Europe series at Hungaroring promised an exciting race. The starting grid was based on the results of the opening race, with the reverse grid for the best nine drivers. That put Tomáš Pekař and his SEAT Cupra to 9th place at the start, while Carol Wittke from Fulinrace Academy team enjoyed the pole position ahead of Petr Fulín jr. from Horňák-Aditis. Team.

And the reverse grid rule brought some dramatic moments for the race. A group of drivers went into the first corner side by side and the TCR cars took over the whole width of the track. The nerves were working, but somehow, they all managed to make it through without problems.

Tomáš Pekař had a perfect start, and he was already in 4th place after the first two corners. And just two laps later, he was already leading the race, taking over after Lukasz Stolarczyk with his Audi RS3. The orange SEAT was simply the fastest car on the track.

Just a few laps later, Stolarczyk had to defend from Michal Makeš. And their battle for 2nd place from the first race repeated itself. However, Stolarczyk learnt, and he did not give Makeš any opportunity to get ahead. Stolarczyk took the trophy for 2nd place with Makeš finishing 3rd with SEAT Cupra.

Last year’s 2nd best driver Milovan Vesnič had a good start, but at the end of Lap 1, he was forced out off the track, and he lost a couple of places. That complicated his race, and he was then unable to find a way around Giacomo Ghermandi from Italy. Once he finally made it through, Vesnič started to focus on Sebastian Steibel in 4th place. Vesnič passed him into the first corner with just three minutes to go and kept the position until the end. He finished ahead of Giacomo Ghermandi, Carol Wittke, Tomasz Rzepecki, Petr Čížek and Petr Fulín jr.