WSC establishes the ‘TCR Gen I’ group for the previous models

WSC establishes the ‘TCR Gen I’ group for the previous models

WSC Group announced the establishing of the ‘TCR Gen I’ group that includes the first-generation TCR-certified cars. The following models will be identified as ‘TCR Gen I’.

  • Alfa Romeo Giulietta RF TCR
  • Audi RS 3 LMS (SEQ & DSG)
  • Honda Civic Type R FK2 TCR
  • LADA Vesta TCR
  • Opel/Holden/Vauxhall Astra TCR
  • Peugeot 308 Racing Cup
  • SEAT Leon Cup Racer
  • Subaru WRX STi TCR
  • Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR (SEQ & DSG)

All cars must be in compliance with the TCR Technical Form and any relevant Extensions issued before 31 December 2017. The Extensions issued afterwards will automatically class the model as a current TCR.

The Balance of Performance for these models will be fixed by WSC via dedicated TCR Technical Bulletins.

WSC President Marcello Lotti explained: “We were aware of the need to create the ‘TCR Gen I’. This was a matter that has also been raised by promoters and competitors alike. Nearly ten years since the TCR concept was launched, there are still hundreds of first-generation cars competing in the different series around the globe and we want to assure them a longer and competitive racing life. The establishing of the ‘TCR Gen I’ will give the promoters the option of running these models in dedicated series or in a separate class within the overall championship.”